If you thought you could enjoy all the Marvel films right at the start of Disney +, you will be disappointed: Some of the blockbusters are missing in Germany. Find out here which seven films are involved.

The Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU for short) now comprises a total of 23 films. Marvel fans who thought they could see all the films right at the start of Disney + now have a different picture: The library of the new streaming service is missing three MCU films and four other Marvel films.

  • The incredible Hulk
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home
  • Deadpool
  • Deadpool 2
  • X-Men Origins: Wolverine
  • Logan – The Wolverine

Age ratings and licenses: That’s why the series are missing

There are several reasons that these films are not available: With regard to the two Spider-Man films “Homecoming” and “Far From Home”, Ricky Strauss, Head of Content and Marketing at Disney +, revealed that Spider was in an interview with The Verge -You belong to Sony and so far no corresponding deal has come about between the two film studios. Nevertheless, Strauss did not want to rule out a cooperation entirely. “Who knows what will happen in the future?” He also explained and did not completely deprive fans of hope.

“The unbelievable Hulk” is missing in this country due to the tricky licensing basis: The rights to the title are held in Germany by the film distributor Concorde, which became part of the newly founded media company Leonine at the beginning of 2020 – and therefore simply does not belong to Disney.

The two “Deadpool” films as well as “X-Men Origins: Wolverine” and “Logan – The Wolverine” are missing due to the age rating. This is for said four films aged 16 and over. The streaming service Disney +, on the other hand, attaches great importance to a family-friendly program that is accessible to all age groups. That is why Disney + does not include films with a rating of 16 in its offer.

What can Marvel fans expect instead?

Despite everything, you can look forward to an exciting Disney + program: because numerous Marvel series are already in the starting blocks. The new series “WandaVision” will illuminate the story of Wanda and Vision, while “Loki” is all about Thor’s brother and the eponymous hero. In “The Falcon and the Winter Soldier” is about the adventures of Falcon and Bucky Barnes and “What if …?” Provides insights into alternative actions within the MCU.